30 day Equestrian Challenge – day 5

Wow! I can’t believe that I’m already a 6th through this challenge!

Todays question is:

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 1.26.49 PM

“Your first fall”

My first fall was when I was nine. I was riding Gypsy, and we were in the indoor arena during winter. She was picking up her canter, and had just gotten it, when someone outside walked by the back of the arena. She spooked, and while she was cantering, she did a sharp turn. I was already a little off balance, and the turn threw even Gypsy off balance. She leaned too much on the inside when she was turning, and I gracefully jumped/fell off, and rolled away into the middle of the ring. I got right back on afterwards, completely unfazed and unharmed, and continued to canter around the ring. The only thing that was different were my poor jodhpurs. The knees were completely red from the red sand in the ring! I’m glad that my first fall didn’t set me off riding because honestly, it didn’t hurt a bit!

 

Leave a comment